2013

05/02/2013 22:41

 

It has been a long while since I last put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard in the 21st century world we live in) to communicate my views of the world to the great and faithful J Dawg blog readers.

 

For new readers to this blog, I will quickly explain what is about, then include a few helpful tips as to how to go about reading the rest of it. It began in my first year at Swansea University where I was a resident in Langland halls. I was bored midway through my second term, and my flatmate Georgia (referred to often in previous pages as G Dawg) said one day, "J Dawg, why don't you write a blog? You seem to have an unhealthy excess of free time on your hands and there are simply not enough people in this flat to keep you entertained all the time!"

 

"A blog," I thought, as I sat in our fifth floor kitchen, idly a-gazing at the people walking the paths below. "This could be a useful way to spend my time. The world does need to hear the opinions of a university geography student, with too much time and a strangely-adept but ultimately useless flair for creative writing." So I set about writing said blog, and it rapidly became a hit with the great and the good of the Langland social circles. With a little help from the aforementioned G Dawg, and our pals in a neighbouring flat, notably Caitlin (Pigsy), Jess (J Dawg II) and Kenny (K Dawg, the original), we began churning out humourous insights into university life.

 

In terms of ways to read the blog, one should adopt a quasi-ironic tone and take everything written with a metaphorical pinch of salt.

 

Sadly, and due entirely to my own lethargy the blog found itself mothballed in the latter stages of the summer term, akin to my Olympic cycling dream of '08. It's funny how these things just disappear with time,

 

But unlike my Olympic cycling ambitions, the blog is making a welcome or perhaps otherwise (exasperating?) return to Swansea computer screens!

 

Not all of the entries included in this blog are written by myself; some are selected guest blogs. Notable entries include G Dawg's introduction, Pigsy's grandmother's arrest, K Dawg's drunken tae kwondo incident and J Dawg II's emotive account of the summer ball. Together we make up j-dawg.webnode.com.

 

So, as I sit here now in the bedroom of my second year house situated much too far away from the university (the walk is horrible and it's always raining), I find myself once again allowing the proverbial juices to flow through my fingertips and onto paper for the public to read. Hopefully over the coming months many more blog entries will grace this website, with more witty guest blogs from the ensemble cast.

 

In the meantime,

Yours sincerely,

J Dawg